2017–18 Calendar Highlights


Summer Sessions 2017

First four-week session begins Mon, June 12
Independence Day (holiday); no classes Tue, July 4
Second four-week session begins Mon, July 10
Final examinations or last class for all day and evening classes
Fri, Aug 18

Note: Graduate programs start/end dates vary by program. See the Time Schedule for specifics about your program.

Autumn Quarter 2017

New international student check-in (tentative)
Mon, Sep 18
New international student Orientation
Sep 19–20
New student check-in (tentative)
Wed, Sep 20
New Student Orientation begins
Wed, Sep 20
Returning student check-in (tentative) Sat, Sep 23
Returning student check-in (tentative) Sun, Sep 24
Class instruction begins Mon, Sep 25
Veterans Day (holiday); no classes Fri, Nov 10
Thanksgiving (holiday); no classes Nov 23–24
Last class for day classes Fri, Dec 1
Student reading/faculty in-service day
Mon, Dec 4
Final examinations or last class for all day and evening classes* Dec 5–7
Residence halls close for Christmas Break (10 a.m.) Thu, Dec 8
Christmas Break Dec 8–Jan 2
Campus Christmas Closure
Dec 25–Jan 1

Winter Quarter 2018

Residence halls open (1 p.m.)
Tue, Jan 2
Class instruction begins
Wed, Jan 3
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (holiday); evening classes* meet
Mon, Jan 15
Presidents Day (holiday); evening classes* meet Mon, Feb 19
Last class for day classes Mon, Mar 12
Student reading and faculty in-service day
Tue, Mar 13
Final examinations or last class for evening classes
Mar 14–17
Final examinations for all day classes Mar 14–16
Residence halls close for spring break (10 a.m.)
Sat, Mar 17
Spring vacation
Mar 17–24

Spring Quarter 2018

Residence halls open (1 p.m.)
Sun, Mar 25
Class instruction begins
Mon, Mar 26
Good Friday (half-day holiday)
Fri, Mar 30
Easter Monday (class instruction begins at 12:30 p.m.) Mon, Apr 2
Memorial Day (holiday); evening classes* meet Mon, May 28
Last class for day classes Fri, Jun 1
Student reading and faculty in-service day Mon, Jun 4
Final examinations or last class for all evening classes Jun 4–7
Final examination for all day classes Jun 5–7
Ivy Cutting Fri, Jun 8
Residence halls close for Summer Break (4 p.m.) Fri, Jun 8
Graduate Commencement
Fri, Jun 8
Undergraduate Commencement Sat, Jun 9
Graduating seniors vacate housing Sun, Jun 10

*Evening classes include all classes that begin at 4 p.m. or later.

Evening Classes Are Those Beginning at 4 p.m. or Later

Monday evening classes meet on Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Presidents Day, and Memorial Day to have the required class sessions.