2019–20 Calendar Highlights


Summer Sessions 2019

First Four-Week Session Begins Mon, June 10
First Four-Week Education Graduate Session Begins Mon, June 24
Independence Day (holiday); no classes Thu, July 4
Second Four-Week Session Begins Mon, July 8
Last Day to Register for Independent Study, Internship,
Individual Instruction, and Dissertation
Mon, July 8
Second Four-Week Education Graduate Sessions Begins Mon, July 22
Final Exams or Last Class for All Day and Evening Classes
Fri, Aug 16
Grades Due Fri, Aug 30

Note: Graduate programs’ start/end dates vary by program. See the Time Schedule for specifics about your program.

Autumn Quarter 2019

New International Student Check-in (Tentative) Mon, Sep 23
New International Student Orientation Begins Mon, Sep 23
New Student Check-in (Time TBD)
Wed, Sep 25
New Student Orientation Begins
Wed, Sep 25
Returning Student Check-in (11 a.m.-5 p.m.) Sat, Sep 28
Returning Student Check-in (1-5 p.m.) Sun, Sep 29
Class Instruction Begins Mon, Sep 30
Veterans Day Holiday (evening classes* must meet) Mon, Nov 11
Thanksgiving Holiday (no classes; campus offices closed) Nov 28-29
Last Class for Day Classes Fri, Dec 6
Student Reading Day
Mon, Dec 9
Final Exams or Last Meeting for All Evening Classes Dec 9-12
Final Examinations for All Day Classes Dec 10-12
Residence Halls Close for Christmas Break (10 a.m.) Fri, Dec 13
Christmas Break Dec 13-Jan 5
Grades Due
Thu, Dec 19

Winter Quarter 2020

Residence Halls Open (1 p.m.)
Sun, Jan 5
Class Instruction Begins
Mon, Jan 6
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (holiday); evening classes* meet 
Mon, Jan 20
Presidents' Day - All classes meet on normal schedule Mon, Feb 17
Last Class for Day Classes Fri, Mar 13 
Student Reading/Faculty In-service Day Mon, Mar 16
Final Exams or Last Meeting for All Evening Classes
Mar 16–19
Final Exams for All Day Classes Mar 17-19
Residence Halls Close for Spring Break (10 a.m.)
Fri, Mar 20
Spring Break
Mar 20–29
Grades Due Thu, Mar 26

Spring Quarter 2020

Residence Halls Open (1 p.m.)
Mon, Mar 30
Class Instruction Begins
Tues, Mar 31
Good Friday (Holiday - no classes meet)
Fri, Apr 10 
Easter Monday (half-day holiday); class instruction begins at 12:30 p.m. Mon, Apr 13
Memorial Day (holiday); evening classes* must meet Mon, May 25
Last Class for Day Classes Fri, June 5
Student Reading and Faculty In-Service Day Mon, Jun 8
Final Exams or Last Class for All Evening Classes Jun 8-11
Final Exams for All Day Classes Jun 9-11
Ivy Cutting Fri, Jun 12
Residence Halls Close for Summer Break (4 p.m.) Fri, Jun 12
Graduate Commencement
Fri, Jun 12
Undergraduate Commencement (Tentative) Sun, Jun 14
Graduating seniors vacate housing  Mon, Jun 15
Grades Due Mon, Jun 22

*Evening classes include all classes that begin at 4 p.m. or later.

Evening Classes Are Those Beginning at 4 p.m. or Later

Monday evening classes meet on Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Presidents Day, and Memorial Day to have the required class sessions.