2016–17 University Calendar

Current and complete information can be found in the online University Calendar.

Summer Sessions 2016

First Four-Week Session Begins Mon, June 13
Summer Tuition Refund Deadline Varies
Independence Day (Holiday); no classes Mon, July 4
Second Four-Week Session Begins Mon, July 11
Last day to register for independent study,
internship, individual instruction, and dissertation
Mon, July 11
Final Examinations or Last Class for All Day and Evening Classes
 Fri, Aug 19
Grades Due Tue, Aug 30

Note: Graduate programs start/end dates vary by program. See Time Schedule for specifics about your program.

Autumn Quarter 2016

Housing Deposit Refund Deadline for New Students Thu, June 30
Autumn Registration for Non-Admitted Students Begins Thu, Sep 1
Labor Day (holiday) Mon, Sep 5
New International Student Orientation Begins
Sep 20-21
New Student Check-in (1:00-6:30 p.m.)
Wed, Sep 21
New Student Orientation Begins
Wed, Sep 21
Returning Student Check-in (11 a.m.-5 p.m.) Sat, Sep 24
Returning Student Check-in (1-5 p.m.) Sun, Sep 25
Class Instruction Begins Mon, Sep 26
Waitlist Ends Fri, Sep 30
Last Day to Register or Add Courses, to Register Without a Late Fee, or to Apply for Audit or Pass/No Credit Fri, Sep 30
Autumn Quarter 100% tuition refund deadline Fri, Sep 30
Last Day to Apply for Independent Study, Internships, and Individual Instruction Fri, Oct 7
Autumn Quarter 75% tuition refund deadline Fri, Oct 7
Autumn Quarter 50% tuition refund deadline Fri, Oct 14
Autumn Quarter 25% tuition refund deadline Fri, Oct 28
Last Day to Withdraw From Courses Thu, Nov 10
Veterans Day (holiday); no classes Fri, Nov 11
Winter Registration for Admitted Students Currently
in Attendance
Nov 14-17
Winter Registration for Graduate Students Begins Mon, Nov 21
Thanksgiving (holiday); no classes Nov 24-25
Winter Registration for New Admits Begins Mon, Nov 28
Last Class for Day Classes Fri, Dec 2
Winter Registration for Non-Admitted Students Begins Mon, Dec 5
Student Reading/Faculty In-Service Day Mon, Dec 5
Final Examinations or Last Class for All Day and Evening Classes Dec 6-8
Residence Halls close for Christmas Break
(10 a.m.)
Fri, Dec 9
Christmas Break for Students Dec 9-Jan 3
Grades Due Mon, Dec 19
Campus Offices Closed
Dec 26-Jan 2

Winter Quarter 2017

Housing Deposit Refund Deadline for Continuing Students Wed, Nov 30
Housing Deposit Refund Deadline for New Students
Fri, Dec 9
Residence Halls open (1 p.m.; New Student Check-in 1-4 p.m.)
Tue, Jan 3
New International Student Orientation (Tentative) Tue, Jan 3 
Class Instruction Begins
Wed, Jan 4
Waitlist Ends Tue, Jan 10
Last Day to Register or Add Courses, to Register Without Late Fee, or to Apply for Audit or Pass/No Credit
Tue, Jan 10
Winter Quarter 100% tuition refund deadline
Tue, Jan 10
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (holiday); evening classes meet
Mon, Jan 16
Last Day to Apply for Independent Study, Internships,
and Individual Instruction
Wed, Jan 18
Winter Quarter 75% tuition refund deadline
Wed, Jan 18
Winter Quarter 50% tuition refund deadline
Wed, Jan 25
Winter Quarter 25% tuition refund deadline
Wed, Feb 8
Spring Regisration for Admitted Students Currently in Attendance Feb 13-16
Last Day to Withdraw from Courses Fri, Feb 17
Presidents Day (holiday); evening classes meet Mon, Feb 20
Spring Registration for Graduate or New Admits Begins
Mon, Feb 27
Spring Registration for Non-Admitted Students Begins Mon, Mar 6
Last Class for Day Classes Mon, Mar 13 
Student Reading/Faculty In-Service Day
Tue, Mar 14
Final Examinations or Last Class for All Day and Evening Classes
Mar 15-17
Residence Halls Close for Spring Break (10 a.m.)
Sat, Mar 18
Spring Vacation
Mar 18-26
Grades Due
Wed, Mar 22

Spring Quarter 2017

Housing Deposit Refund Deadline for Continuing Students Tue, Feb 28
Housing Deposit Refund Deadline for New Students Fri, Mar 17
New International Student Orientation (Tentative) Thu, Mar 23
Residence Halls open (1 p.m.; New Student Check-in 1-4 p.m.)
Sun, Mar 26
Class Instruction Begins
Mon, Mar 27
Waitlist Ends Fri, Mar 31
Last Day to Register or Add Courses, to Register Without Late Fee, or to Apply for Audit or Pass/No Credit
Fri, Mar 31
Spring Quarter 100% tuition refund deadline Fri, Mar 31
Last Day to Apply for Independent Study, Internships, and Individual Instruction
Fri, Apr 7
Spring Quarter 75% tuition refund deadline
Fri, Apr 7
Good Friday (half-day holiday) no afternoon classes Fri, Apr 14
Easter Monday (class instruction begins at 12:30 p.m.) Mon, Apr 17
Spring Quarter 50% tuition refund deadline
Mon, Apr 17
Spring Quarter 25% tuition refund deadline
Mon, May 1
Summer Registration Begins Mon, May 1
Last Day to Withdraw From Courses
Fri, May 12
Autumn Registration for Admitted Students Currently in Attendance May 15–18
Autumn Registration for New Admits Begins
Sat, May 20
Autumn Registration for Graduate Students Begins Mon, May 22
Memorial Day (holiday); evening classes meet Mon, May 29
Last Class for Day Classes Fri, Jun 2
Student Reading/Faculty In-Service Day Mon, Jun 5
Final Examinations or Last Class for All Evening Classes Jun 5-8
Final Examination for All Day Classes Jun 6-8
Ivy Cutting Fri, Jun 9
Residence Halls close for Summer Break (4 p.m.) Fri, Jun 9
Graduate Commencement
Fri, Jun 9
Undergraduate Commencement Sat, Jun 10
Graduating Seniors Vacate Housing Sun, Jun 11
Grades Due Mon, Jun 19

Evening classes are those beginning 4 p.m. or later

Monday evening classes meet on Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Presidents Day, and Memorial Day to have the required class sessions.

Registration late fees

You will be charged a late fee if registration occurs after the fifth day of the quarter. You must process a registration petition with supporting statements from each instructor to be considered for later registration.

Withdrawing from campus housing

If you withdraw from campus housing after the beginning of the contract period, you will forfeit your room deposit and will receive a refund of room and meal plan charges based on the date you sign the checkout form, according to the following schedule:

  • First week of quarter: 90%
  • Second week of quarter: 75%
  • Third week of quarter: 50%
  • Fourth/fifth week of quarter: 25%
  • Sixth week of quarter and following: 0%