SPU Home
Athletic Department
Our Sports
Falcon Club
Special Events
Related WWW Sites
E-mail Us

The Falcons Online

{short description of image}

Sport HomeCoachesScheduleRosterStatisticsPress ReleasesRecord BookNational Polls


Coaches, Won-Lost Records

The roots of a richly successful women's intercollegiate gymnastics program at Seattle Pacific University can be traced back to 1954, when the recently-completed Brougham Pavilion was the site of the first major meet conducted west of the Mississippi River.

The inaugural women's meet, the AAU Pacific Northwest Open, featured a wide array of events which included the flying rings in addition to today's traditional disciplines. At that time, there was no balance beam on the premises, so Ken Foreman, the Seattle Pacific athletic director at the time, constructed one from a piece of lumber. The finished beam measured the required four inches in width, but was over 10 inches tall. It was Foreman, a former NCAA champion gymnast and world record-holder in the 20-foot rope climb, who organized the event. The meet, which later became known as the Washington Open in the Sixties, became an annual fixture, attracting most of the region's major clubs.

The sport began to take a more permanent foothold at SPU in 1972. George Lewis, a renowned local coach, international authority and founder of Gymnastics Incorporated, moved his club from the Seattle YMCA to Brougham Pavilion's auxiliary gym.

Two years later, in 1974, the varsity program was in place, and became a national power from the outset. Two of Lewis' standouts--Laurel Anderson and Debbie Halle, both members of the U.S. National Team--formed the nucleus of the first Falcon team, along with Jenny Fooshee. A year later, Anderson, who had transferred from the University of Washington, won the national vault title, and Halle was third in the all-around. Following her graduation, Anderson succeeded Lewis as coach.

The Falcons originally competed in the Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) Championships, versus teams from all competitive divisions. In 1982-83, the NCAA began sponsorship of regional and national championship meets, with SPU competing in Division II. After the Falcons won their initial national title, the NCAA dropped the Div. II championships in 1987. USA Gymnastics has since conducted its own collegiate national championship for men and women, with SPU winning titles in 1992 and '97. In 2003, Seattle Pacific joined the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation for purposes of a conference championship.

Seattle Pacific has qualified for the national meet 26 times, including 20 consecutive top-four finishes from 1984-03. Individually, there have been 20 national champions and 138 gymnasts have been All-America.

Year Head Coach W L Region National
1974 Virginia Husted 4 0 1st 5th
1975 George Lewis 2 3 2nd DNQ
1976 Laurel Tindall 5 2 2nd 14th
1977 Laurel Tindall 5 8 5th DNQ
1978 Laurel Tindall 9 6 8th DNQ
1979 Laurel Tindall 3 13 11th DNQ
1980 Laurel Tindall 5 11 10th DNQ
1981 Laurel Tindall 5 14 4th DNQ
1982 Laurel Tindall 20 11 5th DNQ
1983 Laurel Tindall 26 7 4th 7th
1984 Laurel Tindall 29 11 1st 4th
1985 Laurel Tindall 35 11 1st 4th
1986 Laurel Tindall 30 8 1st 1st
1987 Laurel Tindall 25 5 1st 2nd
1988 Laurel Tindall 11 12 1st 3rd
1989 Laurel Tindall 14 9 1st 4th
1990 Laurel Tindall 14 12 2nd 3rd
1991 Laurel Tindall 16 10   2nd
1992 Laurel Tindall 9 12   1st
1993 Laurel Tindall 5 14   3rd
1994 Laurel Tindall 6 14   3rd
1995 Laurel Tindall 7 11   3rd
1996 Laurel Tindall 5 19   4th
1997 Laurel Tindall 9 10   1st
1998 Laurel Tindall 9 12   2nd
1999 Laurel Tindall 4 18   4th
2000 Laurel Tindall 5 13   4th
2001 Laurel Tindall 6 13   3rd
2002 Laurel Tindall 5 12   4th
2003 Laurel Tindall 6 11   3rd
2004 Laurel Tindall 5 14 7th
2005 Laurel Tindall 5 14 3rd
2006 Laurel Tindall 4 14 8th

Copyright © 2006 Seattle Pacific University.  Information: (206) 281-2772
The Falcons Online created and maintained by College Sports Online, Inc.