At the turn of the 20th century, the U.S. Army opened a newly built fort that was to guard the entrance
to Puget Sound. Located on Whidbey Island, the fort was named “Fort Casey”
in honor of Brigadier General Thomas Lincoln Casey, the last U.S. Army chief
of engineers. Fort Casey became part of the “triangle of fire,” along with Fort
Worden and Fort Flagler, and its big guns were first fired on September 11, 1901.
Within 20 years, Fort Casey was the fourth largest military post in Washington,
housing 10 officers and 428 enlisted men.
The Army used the fortification until World War II and, when Fort Casey was
decommissioned in the 1950s, Seattle Pacific University became the property’s
owner — updating and renovating the buildings for groups like yours. Today, SPU
continues to welcome school groups, churches, nonprofit organizations, and outdoor
education classes to this remarkable historical site.
Known as “Camp Casey” by its many returning visitors, Camp Casey Conference
Center continues to offer groups like yours the ideal place to reflect, excel, discover,
Call us toll-free at 866-661-6604 or fill out the Inquiry Form to make your reservation.