Seattle Pacific University

Languages, Cultures, and Linguistics


The Language Program at SPU

The department of Languages, Cultures, and Linguistics encompasses the academic discipline of foreign language acquisition and its application to the serious study of culture and literature. Currently at SPU there is a focus on four spoken languages: Chinese, French, Russian, and Spanish, two ancient languages, Latin and Classical Greek, and Linguistics. There are five departmental degree programs:  Classics, French and Francophone Studies, Spanish Studies, Linguistics and Cultural Studies and Russian Studies.

All programs emphasize the unique relationship between culture and language. Acquisition of analytical skills, familiarity with important works of literature from several languages and the culture they express, deeper understanding of communication patterns, and improved writing skills are all addressed in departmental courses.


Students in Paris