Staff Council

Staff Recognition

SPU staff members of the year are nominated by their peers and selected by Staff Council. If you would like to nominate a person for this recognition, proceed to the nomination page.

Meet the SPU Staff Members of the Year

Julie Harrington

Budget Manager and Assistant to the Dean - School of Health Sciences

The winner of the 2012 Non-Exempt Staff of the Year Award, Julie Ann Harrington, currently serves as the budget manager and assistant to the dean in the School of Health Sciences. One of the faculty members that she works with tells this story: “As a new faculty, one day I was feeling especially down. I went into her office to turn in a form and she must have noticed by expression. She immediately put down what she was doing, closed the door and prayed with me. Her prayers provided me strength, and I could feel God's grace flow into me through her uplifting words.” Another faculty member says that “during this time of transition between deans, she has carefully and quietly run this school, without ever taking credit for it.” Congratulations Julie Ann!

Jason Stoops

Senior Systems Analyst - Computer and Information Systems

The winner of the 2012 Exempt Staff of the Year Award, Jason Stoops, is a Senior Systems Analyst in the Office of Computer and Information Systems. One of his co-workers writes: “This is the guy on the backend that a lot of people outside of CIS might have never heard of. But he is also one of the guys who not only holds the department, but all of SPU’s computer infrastructure together. Despite this, he always deflects credit to other people (even though usually he did most or all of the work) and never toots his own horn. It’s because of this that I believe he should have his horn tooted for him by being chosen as the staff member of the year.” Congratulations Jason!

Please join Staff Council in congratulating Julie and Jason as Staff Members of the Year!