Percussion Ensemble

Percussion Ensemble

The SPU Percussion Ensemble is a select group of instrumentalists who study and perform music from the ever-expanding repertoire of the world of percussion. The ensemble features three to four groups arranged according to student abilities and experience.

The "ethnic group" focuses on the traditional drumming of West Africa, Cuba, Brazil, and the South Pacific. The "chamber groups" perform classical works by the world's most renowned percussion composers, and the "historical group" performs traditional drumming of the American Revolution and Civil War on period instruments.

The Percussion Ensemble performs on and off campus, including at quarterly concerts, the Northwest Percussion Festival, and the annual SPU Ivy Cutting ceremony in June. Ensemble percussionists also provide percussion for SPU's Symphony Orchestra and Symphonic Wind Ensemble.


Membership in Percussion Ensemble is by audition. If you are a musician who plays percussion, you are invited to audition for Percussion Ensemble — whether you are a Music major, a Music minor, or a nonmajor. Auditions take place at the beginning of Autumn Quarter (see notices posted in the lobby of Crawford Music Building prior to the beginning of the quarter). A yearlong commitment is expected, and you may take the course an unlimited number of times.


Percussion Ensemble
Layers, by Lynn Glassock
Dan Adams, Conductor

Download MP3

Director and Faculty Contact

Dan Adams

Director of Percussion Studies and Percussion Ensemble

Phone: 206-281-2143
Office: Beegle 101

Dan Adams

The Drums of War

Percussion Ensemble Director Dan Adams owns six authentic Civil War drums, half ceremonial, half showing the scars of battle. Read more.

Did You Know?

Help Icon SPU alumni have created popular and successful music records, from electronica to worship.

Arts Events

Arts Events at SPU

SPU hosts many arts-related events throughout the year. Pictured above: SPU Theatre Department production of "The Billy Goats Gruff" by John Davies, directed by Don Yanik.