2022–23 Academic Highlights


Summer Sessions 2022

First Four-Week Session Begins Mon, Jun 20
Independence Day (holiday); no classes Mon, July 4
Second Four-Week Session Begins Mon, Jul 18
Last Day to Register for Independent Study, Internship,
Individual Instruction, and Dissertation
Mon, Jul 18
Final Exam or Last Class for All Day and Evening Classes
Fri, Aug 12
Final Grades Due Fri, Aug 26

Note: Graduate programs’ start/end dates vary by program. See the Time Schedule for specifics about your program.

Autumn Quarter 2022

Autumn Quarter September Session Begins Mon, Aug 15
New International Student Orientation Housing Check-in Sun, Sep 4
New International Student Orientation Begins Mon, Sep 5
Labor Day (holiday) Mon, Sep 5
New Student Campus Housing Check-in  Thu, Sep 8
New Student Orientation Begins Thu, Sep 8
September Session Classes End
Fri, Sep 9
Returning Student Check-in (11 a.m.–5 p.m.) Sat, Sep 10
Returning Student Check-in (1–5 p.m.) Sun, Sep 11
Class Instruction Begins Mon, Sep 12
Last Day for New Autumn Admits to Complete Initial Registration Mon, Sep 12
September Session Grades Due Fri, Sep 16
Veterans Day Holiday**; evening classes* meet Fri, Nov 11
Last Day of Instruction Wed, Nov 16
Student Reading Day
Thu, Nov 17
Final Exams or Last Class for Evening Classes* Thu-Tue, Nov 17-22
Final Exams or Last Class for Day Classes Fri-Tue, Nov 18-22
Residence Halls Close for Christmas Break (10 a.m.) Wed, Nov 23
Christmas Break for Students Nov 23–Jan 2
Winter Quarter December Session Begins
Mon, Nov 28
Grades Due
Thu, Dec 8 

Winter Quarter 2023

Winter Quarter December Session Begins
Mon, Nov 28
December Session Classes End
Thu, Dec 22
December Session Grades Due
Thu, Dec 29
Residence Halls Open (1 p.m.; New Student check-in 1-4 p.m.)
Tue, Jan 3
Class Instruction Begins
Wed, Jan 4
Last Day for New Winter Admits to Complete Initial Registration
Wed, Jan 4
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (holiday)**; evening classes* meet 
Mon, Jan 16
Day of Common Learning; classes beginning at 4 p.m. or later meet
Wed, Jan 25
All classes meet as scheduled on Presidents' Day; no holiday Mon, Feb 20
Last Day of Instruction Fri, Mar 10
Student Reading/Faculty In-service Day Mon, Mar 13
Final Exams or Last Class for Evening Classes*
Mon-Thu, Mar 13–16
Final Exams or Last Class for Day Classes Tue-Thu, Mar 14–16
Residence Halls Close for Spring Break (10 a.m.)
Fri, Mar 17
Spring Break for Students Mar 17–28
Grades Due Fri, Mar 24

Spring Quarter 2023

Residence Halls Open (1 p.m; New Student check-in 1-4 p.m.)
Tue, Mar 28
Class Instruction Begins
Wed, Mar 29
Last Day for New Spring Admits to Complete Initial Registration
Wed, Mar 29
Good Friday (holiday); no classes meet
Fri, Apr 7
Memorial Day (holiday)**; evening classes* still meet Mon, May 29
Last Day of Instruction Fri, June 2
Student Reading/Faculty In-Service Day Mon, Jun 5
Final Exams or Last Class for Evening Classes* Mon-Thu, Jun 5-8
Final Exams or Last Class for Day Classes Tue-Thu, Jun 6-8
Residence Halls Close for Summer Break (4 p.m.) Fri, Jun 9
Ivy Cutting Fri or Sat, Jun 9 or 10
Graduate Commencement
Fri or Sat, Jun 9 or 10
Undergraduate Commencement   Sat or Sun, Jun 10 or 11
Graduating seniors vacate housing (to be decided) Sun or Mon, Jun 11 or 12
Grades Due Mon, Jun 19

*Evening classes include all classes that begin at 4 p.m. or later.

**Monday evening classes will meet on Martin Luther King, Jr. Day and Memorial Day in order to provide the required class sessions.

Evening classes are those beginning at 4 p.m. or later

Monday evening classes meet on Veterans Day, Martin Luther King Jr. Day, and Memorial Day to have the required class sessions.