•                             Request Info                         
  •                                              
  •                             Visit Campus                         
  •                                              
  •                             Virtual Tour                         
  •                                              
  •                             Apply                         
  •                                              
  •                             Admitted Students                         
  •                                              
                                 
        
Undergraduate Admissions
Meet Michelle

Admissions job: I get the great privilege of walking alongside students (and parents!) as they determine what matters most to them when making a college decision. We hope that they will choose SPU, but in the end, we want the best fit for those who are in this important discernment process. We think of ourselves as partners in that. What an honor!

Hometown: Newport, Oregon

Education: Pacific Lutheran University (Political Science and Global Studies major, Spanish minor). Portland State University (TESOL certificate). I also studied abroad in Mexico and Central America, which I highly recommend doing. Study abroad is more accessible than you might think!

Favorite Seattle Restaurant: Uneeda Burgers is my current favorite (their truffle fries are out of this world!). TNT Taqueria is a very close second.

A trip I’d like to take: A few years ago, I traveled to South Africa and thought it was an amazing place, rich with culture, history, and nature. I’d now like to go to Kenya and Botswana, and time the trip with the great wildebeest migration.

Family: My family consists of my husband Chuck (who is a State Farm Insurance agent – he’s the best!), daughter Audrey (a current junior at Calvin University), son Emmett (a high school senior), and daughter Elsie (a high school freshman). We live very close to campus, on Queen Anne Hill.

Books reading now: Live the Questions (by SPU’s own Dr. Jeff Keuss)

Favorite Movie: Shawshank Redemption; Planes, Trains, and Automobiles; Love Actually

Favorite thing about SPU: Our location! SPU is so close to all of the great things that Seattle has to offer — from internships and jobs to service opportunities to amazing food, arts, shopping, and entertainment. It’s also so close to both the water and the mountains, if you want to escape the city at any time. Plus, I love that SPU is in a neighborhood, so you get the best of all worlds. There is no other place like it!

Advice for high school/transfer students: Go for it. Try something new. Maintain a good support system, even if you have to create a new one.  

Hobbies & Fun Facts: I love to travel, and have lived in Mexico, Chile, Japan, and Great Britain. I also love hiking, gardening, kayaking, listening to 80s music, hanging out with my family and friends, and watching my kids’ sports games. During Seahawks season, I’m riveted to the TV!