Skip site navigation and jump to page content

2014–15 Academic Event Schedule

View faculty training opportunities through the Center for Scholarship and Faculty Development.

View professional development opportunities through Educational Technology and Media (formerly ITS).

Autumn Quarter 2014

New Faculty Orientation

Day One:
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
8:30 a.m.–3:00 p.m.
Library Seminar Rooms A/B

Day Two:
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
8:30 a.m.–1:30 p.m.
Library Seminar Rooms A/B

Teaching Essentials I & II

Thursday–Friday, September 4-5, 2014
9 a.m.–3 p.m.
Cremona 101

Faculty Retreat

Monday–Tuesday, September 8-9, 2014
Camp Casey, Whidbey Island

New Student Convocation

Friday, September 26, 2014
4 p.m.
Royal Brougham Pavilion
Faculty, please dress in academic regalia. Line up in the Falcon Club (RBP) at 3:45 p.m. All faculty are expected to attend.

Opening Chapel

Tuesday, September 30, 2014
11:10 a.m.
First Free Methodist Church (adjacent to campus)
Speaker: Dr. George Scranton, Professor of Theatre
Address Title: "Between Job and King Lear"
Faculty will not process or wear academic regalia. The front pews will be reserved for faculty seating. All faculty are expected to attend.

Provost-Faculty (Brownbag) Lunch

Thursday, October 16
Noon - 1:30 p.m.
Library Seminar Room

Day of Common Learning / Autumn Faculty In-Service

Wednesday, October 22, 2014
10 a.m.–3 p.m.
Royal Brougham Pavilion
Upper Gwinn Commons
Speaker: Andy Crouch, Author of The Promise and Perils of Power: Fostering Human Flourishing in a Broken World
More Information

New Faculty & Mentoring Tea

Thursday, October 30, 2014
3–4 p.m.
Upper Gwinn Commons
Hosted by The Center for Scholarship and Faculty Development

Provost-Faculty Breakfast
Thursday, November 13
8–9:30 a.m
Lake Union Room, Gwinn Commons 

Autumn Faculty Tea
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
3–4:30 p.m.
Queen Anne Room, Upper Gwinn Commons

Winter Quarter 2015

New Faculty Seminar

Winter Quarter: Thursdays 12:30–2:50 p.m. (Lunch Provided)
Library Seminar Room
Hosted by The Center for Scholarship and Faculty Development

Winter Faculty Tea

Tuesday, January 20, 2015
3:00 - 4:30 p.m.
Queen Anne Room

Palmer Lecture

Thursday, January 22, 2015

7:00 p.m.
Upper Gwinn 
Lecturer: Dr. Stephen Fowl

"How to Eat Till We are Full: Idolatry and Ways to Avoid it"
Hosted by the Center for Biblical and Theological Education

Provost-Faculty Lunch

Tuesday, February 10, 2015
12:00 - 1:30 p.m.
Library Seminar Room

Marston Lecture

Thursday, February 12, 2015
3:00 - 4:00 p.m.
Otto Miller Hall 109
Lecturer: Owen Ewald, C. May Marston Assistant Professor of Classics
Hosted by The Center for Scholarship and Faculty Development

Provost-Faculty Breakfast

Tuesday, March 10, 2015
8:00 - 9:30 a.m.
Library Seminar Room

Faculty In-Service

Monday, March 16, 2015

8:30 a.m. - Noon
Upper Gwinn 

Spring Quarter 2015

Emeriti Tea

Tuesday, March 24, 2015
1:30-3:00 p.m.
Queen Anne Room, Upper Gwinn Commons

Weter Lecture

Tuesday, April 14, 2015
7:30–9 p.m.
Upper Gwinn Commons
Lecturer: Dr. Jennifer McKinney
Title: TBD

Walls Lecture

Wednesday, May 6, 2015
7:00 p.m.
First Free Methodist Church (adjacent to campus)
Lecturer: Dr. Doug Koskela
Title: "New Birth"

Retirement Dinner

Thursday, May 7, 2015
6:30 p.m.
Upper Gwinn Commons

New Faculty & Mentoring Tea

Thursday, May 14, 2015
3:00 - 4:00 p.m.
Upper Gwinn Commons
Hosted by The Center for Scholarship and Faculty Development

Spring Faculty Luncheon

Monday, June 8, 2015
11:30 a.m.
Upper Gwinn Commons

Ivy Cutting

Friday, June 12, 2015
Tiffany Loop
Faculty, please dress in academic regalia. Line up between Moyer Hall and Peterson Hall at 9:15 a.m.
Faculty Instructions

Graduate Hooding Ceremonies

Friday, June 12, 2015
Various times and campus locations, prior to the Graduate Commencement Ceremony (Please contact your school or department’s main office for details.)

Time
School
Location
11 a.m.
School of Business, Government, and Economics
12:15 p.m.
School of Psychology, Family, and Community
11:30 a.m.
School of Health Sciences
12:30 p.m.
MA - Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
12:30 p.m.
School of Education
1 p.m.
Seattle Pacific Seminary
*The Master of Fine Arts program will perform their hooding ceremony in Santa Fe, NM.

Graduate Commencement

Friday, June 12, 2015
2:00 p.m.
Location:
Tiffany Loop
Faculty, please dress in academic regalia. Line up between Moyer Hall and Peterson Hall at 1:45 p.m.
Faculty Instructions

Baccalaureate

Friday, June 12, 2015
7:30 p.m.
Royal Brougham Pavilion
Academic regalia not required.
Faculty Instructions

Undergraduate Commencement

Saturday, June 13, 2015
3 p.m.
Location: Key Arena
Faculty, please dress in academic regalia.
Faculty Instructions

University Calendar

View the Campus Master Calendar

2015-16 Academic Event Schedule

View schedule of Academic Events for 2015-16. 

close(X)