2015–16 Academic Event Schedule

View faculty training opportunities through the Center for Scholarship and Faculty Development.

View professional development opportunities through Educational Technology and Media (formerly ITS).

*Faculty attendance required.
**Faculty please dress in academic regalia.

Autumn Quarter 2015

New Faculty Orientation

Day One:
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
8:30 - 4:00 p.m.
Library Seminar Room

Day Two:
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
8:15 a.m.–1:30 p.m.
Library Seminar Room

Teaching Essentials I & II

Thursday–Friday, September 3-4, 2015
9 a.m.–3 p.m.
Cremona 101

Faculty Mentor Training 

Wednesday, September 9, 2015
2:00 - 3:00 p.m.
Library Seminar Room

Faculty Retreat*

Monday–Tuesday, September 14-15, 2015
Camp Casey, Whidbey Island
Registration

Fall Faculty Mentoring Tea

Tuesday, September 22, 2015
3:00 - 4:30 p.m.
Library Seminar Room

Opening Communion and State of the University Address

Wednesday, September 23, 2015
9:30 - 11:30 a.m.
First Free Methodist Church Sanctuary

Campus Picnic

Wednesday, September 23, 2015
11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Tiffany Loop

New Student Convocation*

Thursday, September 24, 2015
4 p.m.
Royal Brougham Pavilion
**Faculty, please dress in academic regalia. Line up in the Falcon Club (RBP) at 3:45 p.m. All faculty are expected to attend.

Opening Chapel

Tuesday, September 29, 2015
11:10 a.m.
First Free Methodist Church (adjacent to campus)
Speaker: Dr. Ed Smyth
Title: "Teaching and Mentoring: The University at Work"

Day of Common Learning / Autumn Faculty In-Service*

Wednesday, October 21, 2015
10 a.m.–3 p.m.
Royal Brougham Pavilion
Upper Gwinn Commons
Speaker: Lisa Slavovsky of the International Justice Mission (IJM).
Title: "Seek Justice, Do Justice, and Sustain Justice: Building Community in a Broken World"

Provost-Faculty Breakfast - TBD

Autumn Faculty Tea

Thursday, November 12, 2015
2:00 - 3:30 p.m.
Queen Anne Room, Upper Gwinn Commons


Winter Quarter 2016

New Faculty Seminar

Winter Quarter: Thursdays 12:30–2:50 p.m. (lunch provided) 
Library Seminar Room
Hosted by The Center for Scholarship and Faculty Development

Marston Lecture

Tuesday, February 9, 2016
3:00 - 4:00 p.m.
Demaray Hall
Hosted by The Center for Scholarship and Faculty Development

Winter Faculty Tea

Tuesday, February 16, 2016
2:00 - 3:00 p.m.
Queen Anne Room, Upper Gwinn Commons

Palmer Lecture

Thursday, February 11, 2016
7:00 p.m.
Upper Gwinn Commons
Lecturer: Father Eduardo Fernandez
Hosted by The Center for Biblical and Theological Education

Provost-Faculty Lunch - TBD


Provost-Faculty Breakfast - TBD


Faculty In-Service*

Monday, March 14, 2016
8:30 a.m. - Noon
Upper Gwinn Commons

Spring Quarter 2016

Emeriti Tea - TBD


Weter Lecture

Tuesday, April 12, 2016
7:30–9 p.m.
Upper Gwinn Commons
Lecturer: Dr. Michael Langford
Title: "Reconciliation as Transformation"

Walls Lecture

Wednesday, May 4, 2016
7:00 p.m.
First Free Methodist Church (adjacent to campus)
Lecturer: Dr. Rob Wall and Dr. Cara Wall-Scheffler

Retirement Dinner

Thursday, May 5, 2016
6:30 p.m.
Upper Gwinn Commons

Spring Faculty Mentoring Tea

Thursday, May 12, 2016
3:00 - 4:30 p.m.
Library Seminar Room

Spring Faculty Luncheon*

Monday, June 6, 2016
11:30 a.m.
Upper Gwinn Commons

Ivy Cutting*

Friday, June 10, 2016
9:30 a.m.
Tiffany Loop
**Faculty, please dress in academic regalia. Line up between Moyer Hall and Peterson Hall at 9:15 a.m.
Faculty Instructions

Graduate Hooding Ceremonies

Friday, June 10, 2016
Various times and campus locations, prior to the Graduate Commencement Ceremony (Please contact your school or department’s main office for details.)

Graduate Commencement*

Friday, June 10, 2016
2:00 p.m.
Location:
Tiffany Loop
*All faculty must attend either Graduate or Undergraduate Commencement.
**Faculty, please dress in academic regalia. Line up between Moyer Hall and Peterson Hall at 1:45 p.m.
Faculty Instructions

Baccalaureate

Friday, June 10, 2016
7:30 p.m.
Location: Royal Brougham Pavilion
Academic regalia not required.
Faculty Instructions

Undergraduate Commencement*

Saturday, June 11, 2016
1:00 p.m.
Location: Key Arena
*All faculty must attend either Graduate or Undergraduate Commencement.
**Faculty, please dress in academic regalia.
Faculty Instructions

University Calendar

View the Campus Master Calendar

close(X)