Spring Concerts 2016-2017 Season

Join the SPU Music Department this spring for music, celebration, and fellowship with our talented student musicians


Friday, March 31, 2017
Junior Recital | Clarissa Aaron, soprano, and Tara Snevoll, violin
Nickerson Studios

Sunday, April 2, 2017
Faculty Concert | Musical Masterworks
An afternoon of vocal and instrumental masterworks from the Renaissance and Baroque eras celebrating SPU Music Department’s new organ and highlighting faculty performers Les Martin, organ; Brian Chin, trumpet; Chérie Hughes and Catherine Haight, soprano; Jan Nelson, alto; David Krosschell and Danny Helseth, trombone; Bradley Hawkins, cello; Todd Gowers, contrabass; with special guests Kim Zabelle and Steve Creswell, violin.
Nickerson Studios | 4:00 p.m.

Friday, April 7, 2017
Junior Recital | Alyse Kennedy, soprano, and Gillian McKay, soprano
Nickerson Studios

Monday, April 10, 2017
Senior Recital | Melissa Perry, soprano
Nickerson Studios

Monday, April 17, 2017
Faculty Concert | The Elements
In celebration of SPU’s 125th anniversary, this collaborative event will feature Associate Professor of Art Scott Kolbo and the iconoclast band TORCH (Associate Professor of Music Brian Chin). The four classical elements - earth, fire, wind, and water- and a fifth element (Aether) will be depicted through original music and brought to life with moving canvas imagery. Act I will be a socially conscious response to gun violence in America with new works reimagining protestant hymnody.
First Free Methodist Church | 7:30 p.m.

Friday, April 21, 2017
Senior Recital | Jenny Young, trombone
Nickerson Studios

April 29, 2017, 7:30 p.m. and April 30, 2017, 2:00 p.m.
SPU Musical Showcase | A Celebration of 125 Years
A musical showcase in three acts featuring SPU students in music. We will feature finalists from the 3rd Annual SPU Concerto Competition, the Jazz Ensemble, Brass Choir, and a preview of music from the collaboration with SPU Theatre of Stephen Sondheim’s Into the Woods.
Nickerson Studios

Wednesday, May 3, 2017
Piano Faculty Concert | Celebrating 1891
In celebration of SPU’s 125th anniversary, the SPU Keyboard faculty will present an evening of musical masterpieces written during and surrounding the year 1891. Featured performers will include Myrna Capp, Dan Kramlich, Leslie Martin, Yuliya Minina, Robert Swan, Asta Vaicekonis, and Dainius Vaicekonis
Nickerson Studios | 7:30 p.m.

Friday, May 5, 2017
Junior Recital | Colby Cumine, electric bass, and Braden Gillispie, guitar
Nickerson Studios

Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Senior Recital | Nikka Dellosa, horn
Nickerson Studios

Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Jazz Ensemble Concert
Directed by Dan Kramlich
Nickerson Studios | 7:30 p.m.

Monday, May 15, 2017
Composition Recital | Cody Kilpatrick
Nickerson Studios

Tuesday, May 16, 2017
Junior Recital | Spencer Dahl, guitar, and Ellen Ruby, guitar
Nickerson Studios

Wednesday, May 17, 2017
Senior Recital | Forrest Reed, jazz guitar
Nickerson Studios

Friday, May 19, 2017
Symphonic Wind Ensemble Concert
Directed by Danny Helseth
First Free Methodist Church | 7:30 p.m.

Monday, May 22, 2017
Junior Recital | Joe Kaufman, tenor
Nickerson Studios

Tuesday, May 23, 2017
Senior Recital | Jenny Gray percussion, and Carter Vliem, percussion
E. E. Bach Theatre

Wednesday, May 24, 2017
Senior Recital | Riley Kua, piano
Nickerson Studios

Friday, May 26, 2017
Senior Recital | Hannah Matsuda, piano
Nickerson Studios

Tuesday, May 30, 2017
Percussion Concert
Directed by Dan Adams
E. E. Bach Theatre | 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, May 31, 2017
Junior Recital | Anna Marley, alto, and Alicia McGee, alto
Nickerson Studios

Thursday, June 1, 2017
Composition Recital | Lydia Chaffee
Nickerson Studios

Friday, June 2, 2017
Symphony of Psalms World Premier
Composed by SPU Emeritus Professor Dr. Eric Hanson in commemoration of SPU’s 125th Celebration
Chamber Choir, Concert Choir, Men’s Choir, Women’s Choir, and the Symphony Orchestra
Directed by David Anderson, Ryan Ellis, Beth Ann Bonnecroy, and Julia Tai
First Free Methodist Church | 7:30 p.m.

Posted: Friday, February 24, 2017

Share:


close(X)