Faculty and Staff                      

The nursing faculty members at SPU are experts in their fields and are committed to sharing that knowledge with you. Professors are actively involved in many areas of professional nursing, including research, writing, leadership, and clinical practice.

In addition to full-time faculty, adjunct faculty members teach part-time in clinical courses, specializing in community health, mental health, obstetrics, pediatrics, and medical surgical nursing. To find out if there are openings, contact us at 206-281-2606.

Open Faculty Positions

 

Faculty/Staff Sharepoint Page for employees only

Faculty

Vicki Aaberg

Vicki Aaberg
PhD, RN
Assistant Professor of Nursing

Phone: 206-281-2609
Email: aaberv@spu.edu


Scholarship interests: Nursing Education,Disabilities

April Morgenroth
MN, RN, CCRN

Assistant Professor of Nursing

Phone: 206-281-3431

Email: morgenrotha@spu.edu

 

Scholarship Interests: chronic illness, autonomy in nursing, parternships for global health

 

Gaylene Altman
PhD, RN
Adjunct

Phone: 206-281-3530
Email: altmag@spu.edu
Heidi Monroe

Heidi Monroe
MSN, RN, CPN
Assistant Professor of Nursing

Phone: 206-281-2726
Email: monroh@spu.edu


Scholarship interests: Nursing Education; Men in Nursing; Health Care Ethics

Sarah Bear
MSN, RN, CNE
Director, RN to BSN Program

Associate Dean, Undergraduate

Phone: 206-281-2607
Email: bears@spu.edu


Scholarship interests: Educational Systems and Partnerships

 

Sandra Mortinson
MSN, RN

Adjunct

Phone: 206-281-2331
Email: mortis@spu.edu

Adeline Chu

PhD, RN

Assistant Professor of Nursing

 

Phone: 206-281-2829
Email: chua1@spu.edu

 

Scholarship Interests:

Health literacy

 

Valorie Orton
MS, RN, CNL
Instructor of Nursing

Phone: 206-281-2611
Email: ortonv@spu.edu

Mary Coucoules

MN, RN

Instructor of Nursing

Phone: 206-281-2769
Email: coucou@spu.edu


Scholarship interest: Simulation

Linda Pedersen
MSN, APRN

NP Program Director

 

Adjunct Faculty of the Year

2008-2009


Phone: 206-281-2634
Email: pederl1@spu.edu

Yoli Grandjean
DNP, RN

Assistant Professor of Nursing


Phone: 206-281-2682
Email: grandy@spu.edu

 

Scholarship Interests: disseminating nursing research, care management, and mind-body therapies

Bethany Rolfe Witham
DNP, APRN

Assistant Professor of Nursing

Phone: 206-281-2978
Email: bethanyr@spu.edu

 

Scholarship interests: Culturally competent care; Social Determinants of Health

Christine Hoyle
DNP, ARNP, FNP

Associate Dean, Graduate

 

Phone: 206-281-2649
Email: hoylec@spu.edu

Scholarship interests: health behavior change, motivational interviewing in clinical practice, systems and population-based models of care for chronic disease self-management, medical home and team-care, Community-Oriented Primary Care and interprofessional education.

Bomin Shim
PhD, RN

Assistant Professor of Nursing

Phone: 206-281-2731
Email: shimb@spu.edu


Scholarship interests: Dementia caregiving, Meaning in life, Morality

Carol McFarland
MN, RN, CNE

Instructor of Nursing

Adjunct Faculty of the Year

2012-2013


Phone: 206-281-2612
Email: cmcfar@spu.edu

 

Scholarship interests: character formation & development, interprofessional education

Lorie Wild
PhD, RN, NEA-BC

Dean, School of Health Sciences

Phone: 206-281-2608

Email: wildl@spu.edu

Administrative Staff

Katie Bennett
Administrative Assistant
Graduate Program


Phone: 206-281-2616
Email: kbennett@spu.edu

Linda Meerdink

Administrative Assistant Undergraduate Programs

Phone: 206-281-2698
Email: lmeerdink@spu.edu

Julie Ann Harrington
Budget Manager,

Assistant to the Dean

Phone: 206-281-2606

Email: harrij8@spu.edu

Daphne Romano
Contracts

Phone: 206-281-2765
Email: dromano@spu.edu

Emily Kelly

MSN, RN
Director, Nursing Clinical Learning Lab

Phone: 206-281-2614
Email: kellye@spu.edu

Diane Tomhave

Clinical Placements

 

Phone: 206-281-2765

Email: tomhaved@spu.edu

    Beth Van Camp
Graduate Admissions Counselor

Phone: 206-281-2888
Email: beth.vancamp@spu.edu