About the College of Arts and Sciences

About CAS

The depth of the College of Arts and Sciences’ curricula, together with the breadth of its General Education program, provide a gateway to countless vocations. Graduates from our program are critical thinkers, effective communicators, creators of beauty, and culturally competent individuals.

The College of Arts and Sciences at Seattle Pacific traces its roots to 1980, when Vice President of Academic Affairs David Dickerson created the Dean of Arts and Sciences position. Now the College is the largest academic unit on campus. 

After more than a decade with a co-dean model, dividing the College of Arts and Sciences into the Division of Arts and Humanities and the Division of STEM and Social Sciences, the College of Arts and Sciences has now been unified under Dean Margaret Watkins. The College offers 54 undergraduate majors and 37 undergraduate minors, as well as one graduate program. As of Autumn 2020, six of the top undergraduate programs at SPU are CAS majors.

Don Yanik Set

CAS Exhibit newsletter

See what’s happening in the arts and humanities and across the campus, with stories from faculty, students, and alumni in the Exhibit newsletter.