Faculty and Staff

The nursing faculty members at SPU are experts in their fields and are committed to sharing that knowledge with you. Professors are actively involved in many areas of professional nursing, including research, writing, leadership, and clinical practice.

In addition to full-time faculty, adjunct faculty members teach part-time in clinical courses, specializing in community health, mental health, obstetrics, pediatrics, and medical surgical nursing. To find out if there are openings, contact us at 206-281-2606.

Open Faculty Positions

Faculty

Vicki Aaberg Vicki Aaberg
RN, PhD
Assistant Professor

Phone: 206-281-2609
Email: aaberv@spu.edu
Scholarship interest:
Nursing Education,Disabilities
Heidi Monroe Heidi Monroe
RN, MSN, CPN
Instructor

Phone: 206-281-2726
Email: monroh@spu.edu
Scholarship interest: Nursing Education, Gender Diversity, Pediatric Bioethics
Gaylene Altman
RN, PhD
Professor

Phone: 206-281-3530
Email: altmag@spu.edu
Sandra Mortinson
RN, MSN

Instructor

Phone: 206-281-2331
Email: mortis@spu.edu

Sarah Bear
RN, MSN
Director, RN to BSN Program

Phone: 206-281-2607
Email: bears@spu.edu
Scholarship interest:
Nursing Education, Adult Learners, Educational Systems and Partnerships
Valorie Orton
RN, MSN, CNL
Instructor

Phone: 206-281-2611
Email: ortonv@spu.edu
Susan Casey
RN, PhD
Associate Dean, Graduate Program

Phone: 206-281-2649
Email: caseys@spu.edu
Scholarship interest:
Graduate Student Exit Competencies
Linda Pedersen
ARNP, MSN

Instructor, NP Program Director

Phone: 206-281-2634
Email: pederl1@spu.edu

Mary Coucoules

RN, MN

Instructor

Phone: 206-281-2769
Email: coucou@spu.edu
Scholarship interest:
Simulation

Carol Redfield
RN, MSN

Instructor

Phone: 206-281-2829
Email: carolsr@spu.edu
Scholarship interest:
Nursing Education, Simulation, Nursing, Student Attitudes of Older Adults

Kelly Marley
RN, MSN

Associate Dean, Undergraduate Program

Phone: 206-281-2964
Email: kmarley@spu.edu
Scholarship interest: Adult Learners and Electronic Portfolios

Bethany Rolfe Witham
ARNP, DNP

Assistant Professor

Phone: 206-281-2978
Email: bethanyr@spu.edu

Scholarship interest: Culturally competent care; Social Determinants of Health
Carol McFarland
RN, MN

Instructor

Phone: 206-281-2612
Email: cmcfar@spu.edu

Bomin Shim
RN, PhD

Assistant Professor

Phone: 206-281-2731
Email: shimb@spu.edu
Scholarship interest: Dementia caregiving, Meaning in life, Morality

James Mitre
RN, BC, MN

Instructor

Phone: 206-281-3431
Email: jimmitre@spu.edu
Scholarship interest: Gender Diversity, Street Youth with Dual Diagnosis, Access to Services

Lorie Wild
PhD, RN, NEA-BC

Dean

Phone: 206-281-2608 Email: wildl@spu.edu

Administrative Staff

Katie Bennett
Administrative Assistant

Graduate Program
Phone: 206-281-2616
Email: kbennett@spu.edu
Linda Meerdink

Administrative Assistant: Undergraduate Program

Phone: 206-281-2698
Email: lmeerdink@spu.edu

Julie Ann Harrington
Budget Manager, Assistant to the Dean

Phone: 206-281-2606 Email: harrij8@spu.edu
Daphne Romano
Contracts

Phone: 206-281-2765
Email: dromano@spu.edu
Julie Kolbo
Skills Lab Coordinator

Phone: 206-281-2774
Email: kolboj@spu.edu
Beth Van Camp
Admissions Counselor, Graduate Program

Phone: 206-281-2888
Email: beth.vancamp@spu.edu