Graduates of the BioCORE Scholars Program

Scholars with Elie Brezynski

Since the BioCORE Scholars Program began in 2016, we have welcomed five cohorts to the program, and have now graduated students from the first two cohorts, who joined the program in the 2015-2016 and 2016-2017 academic years. These students were trailblazers, and made enormous contributions to not only the BioCORE Scholars Program, but to the SPU Biology and Chemistry departments. We are very proud of their success.

BioCORE Scholars Class of 2021

During an online ceremony in June, the BioCORE Scholars Program honored our five graduating Scholars, who joined during the 2017-2018 academic year.  Each Scholar was formally presented by a faculty member, and was pinned by a family member.  Our graduates are:

  • Mercy Alsworth, BA Biology
  • Bethelehem Gebre, BS Physiology
  • Alexandria Gonzalez, BS Biochemistry
  • Cindy Huang, BA Life Science
  • Israel Zamudio, BA Life Science

In addition to being Scholars, Bethelehem, Alexandria and Israel also served as Peer Mentors to first-year Scholars.  Bethelehem was the program's Learning Assistant for the 2020-2021 academic year. We appreciate their service to and leadership in the program!

We also congratulate Sawa Tecle (BA Human Development and Family Studies), who was an original member of the BioCORE Scholars 2017-2018 cohort, and who also graduated in Spring 2021.

Congratulations to all of our graduates - we are very proud of you!!

BioCORE Scholars Class of 2020

The BioCORE Scholars Program is proud to announce the graduation of Ngan Dang (BS Physiology) and Menna Hailemariam (BS Physiology), members of the second cohort of BioCORE Scholars who joined during the 2016-2017 academic year (a 3rd member of their cohort, Laarni Aguila, graduated in June 2019).  Ngan and Menna excelled not only academically, but in their service as learning and teaching assistants in the Biology Department, peer mentors to other BioCORE Scholars, and as peer tutors and academic coaches in the Center for Learning.  In June 2020, Ngan was honored for her service with the Biology Department Leadership Award, and Menna was honored for her research with the Cellular and Molecular Biology Award.  Both Ngan and Menna plan to apply to medical school. 

We also congratulate Jennifer Tung (BS Physiology) and Antavea Green (BA Psychology), who were original members of the BioCORE Scholars 2016-2017 cohort, and will also be graduating this quarter. Several other original members of the cohort will graduate in the Autumn 2020 and Winter 2021 quarters.

Congratulations to all of our graduates - we are very proud of you!!

Learn more about the Class of 2019, the first BioCORE Scholars cohort to graduate.

The Inaugural BioCORE Scholars Graduates

Slideshow LinkPhotos from the Pinning Ceremony

(Many thanks to David Rither in Educational Technology & Media for creating this video.)

The BioCORE Scholars Program is proud to recognize the first cohort of students to graduate from the program, as part of the SPU Class of 2019.  The graduates were recognized at a special pinning ceremony on Friday, June 7, 2019.  In front of family, friends and faculty, each of the graduating seniors were honored by a faculty advisor or research mentor, and received a golden microscope pin to wear on their graduation gown.

The graduates are:

Laarni Aguila (BS Cell and Molecular Biology), honored by faculty advisor, Dr. Richard Ridgway

Hayley Cheyney Kane (BS Physiology), honored by research mentor, Dr. Cara Wall-Scheffler

Cienn Joyeux (BS Cell and Molecular Biology), honored by research mentor, Dr. Janet Bester-Meredith

Simone Neal (BA Life Sciences), honored by faculty advisor, Dr. Charlotte Pratt

Leslie Rodriguez-Salas (BS Biochemistry), honored by research mentor, Dr. Jenny Tenlen

The Biology department is incredibly proud of each of our Scholars, who developed into confident student leaders who served as Peer Mentors and Learning Assistants to newer Scholars.  All five Scholars plan to continue their education in graduate programs in medicine, biomedical research and forensic science.