Provost Leadership Team and Academic Leadership Team

Provost

SPU Provost Laura Hartley

Laura Hartley

Provost

Email: provost@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2125

The Provost Leadership Team includes the leadership of University Ministries, Student Formation & Community Engagement, Academic Affairs, and Inclusive Excellence. The Academic Leadership Team has primary responsibility for academic policies, programs, and curriculum. 

Provost Leadership Team

Lisa Ishihara

Lisa Ishihara

University Chaplain

Email: chaplainlisa@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2347
Office: SUB 200
Profile Image

Cindy Price

Vice Provost for Academic Affairs; Associate Professor of Sociology

Email: cprice@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2179

Sandra Mayo

Vice Provost for Inclusive Excellence; Chief of Staff

Email: vpoie@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2515

Maliea Lowe-Hale

Executive Assistant

Email: lowehalem@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2508

Academic Leadership Team

Margaret Brown

​Margaret Brown

Associate Provost for Graduate and Professional Programs; Professor of Psychology

Email: mbrown@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2174
Sandra Hartje headshot

Sandra C. Hartje

Interim Co-Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, STEM and Social Sciences Division; Professor of Family and Consumer Sciences

Email: shartje@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2204
Antwinett Lee

Antwinett Lee

Interim Dean, School of Health Sciences; Assistant Professor of Nursing

Email: leea30@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2607
Nyaradzo Mvududu

Nyaradzo Mvududu

Dean of the School of Education; Professor of Education

Email: nyaradzo@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2551
Michael Paulus

Michael Paulus

Assistant Provost for Educational Technology; Dean of the Library; Associate Professor of Information Studies

Email: paulusm@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2414
Rebekah Rice

Rebekah Rice

Interim Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, Arts and Humanities Division; Associate Professor of Philosophy

Email: ricer@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2277

Ross Stewart

Dean of the School of Business, Government, and Economics; Professor of Accounting
PhD, University of Glasgow

Email: rstewart@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2900
Doug Strong

Doug Strong

Dean of the School of Theology; Professor of the History of Christianity

Email: dstrong@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2473
​​Katy Tangenberg

Katy Tangenberg

Dean of the School of Psychology, Family, and Community; Professor of Social Welfare

Email: tangenbergk@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2940
Derek Wood

Derek Wood

Interim Co-Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, STEM and Social Sciences Division; Professor of Biology

Email: woodd1@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2955
Rashmi Shrestha

Rashmi Shrestha

Assistant to the Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

Email: shresthar@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2134
Office: Demarary Hall 350

A student studying in SPU's library

“Christian higher education is uniquely positioned in the broader sector of higher education to pay attention to holistic student formation. At SPU, we want to help students develop intellectual and practical skills to become ready for jobs, but, to quote John Wesley, we also want them ‘to grow more perfect in love.’” 

Laura Hartley
Provost