Honors Core Faculty

University Scholars
SPU’s University Scholars faculty take seriously their roles as mentors — not only in academics, but also in helping you to foster a deep and meaningful life. They are committed to challenging you in your academics and helping you discover the connections between seemingly disparate disciplines.

Faculty Contact

Phillip M. Baker

Assistant Professor of Psychology
PhD, University of Illinois at Chicago

Email: bakerp5@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2178
Office: Marston 110

Matthew Benton

Assistant Professor of Philosophy
PhD, Rutgers University

Email: bentonm@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2220
Office: Marston Hall 207

Christine Chaney

Professor of English, Honors Program Director
PhD, University of Washington

Email: cchaney@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2409
Office: Marston 230

Wade Grabow

Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
PhD, University of California at Santa Barbara

Email: grabow@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2016
Office: Eaton 310

Katie Kresser

Professor of Art
PhD, Harvard University

Email: kressk@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-3443
Office: Art Center

Geri Mason

Assistant Professor of Economics
PhD, University of Hawaii, Manoa

Email: geri@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2709
Office: McKenna Hall 209

Kevin Neuhouser

Associate Professor of Sociology
PhD, Indiana University

Email: neuhous@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2276
Office: Alexander Hall 308

Rebekah Rice

Interim Dean College of Arts and Sciences, Division of Arts and Humanities; Associate Professor of Philosophy
PhD, Brown University

Email: ricer@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2080
Office: Marston Hall 213

Rodney Stiling

Associate Professor of History
PhD, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Email: rstiling@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2680
Office: Alexander Hall 412

Joshua Tom

Assistant Professor of Sociology
PhD, Baylor University

Email: jtom@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2547
Office: Alexander Hall Room 311

Alissa Walter

Assistant Professor of History
PhD, Georgetown University

Email: waltera@spu.edu
Phone: 206-281-2594
Office: Alexander Hall Room 410