2022–23 University Academic Calendar

Note: The calendar is subject to change. Current and complete information can be found in the online University Calendar.

Summer Sessions 2022

Summer Session begins Mon, Jun 20
Summer tuition refund deadline Varies
Summer add and drop deadline  Varies 
Independence Day (holiday); no classes Mon, Jul 4
Last day to register for independent study, internship, individual instruction, and dissertation Mon, Jul 18
Summer Session ends
Fri, Aug 12
Summer Session Grades due Fri, Aug 26

Note: Summer courses have a variety of start and end dates, depending on the summer session to which they are assigned. See the Undergraduate Time Schedule or Graduate Time Schedule for specifics about each section.

Autumn Quarter 2022

Autumn registration begins for Admitted Undergraduate and Graduate/Doctoral Students currently in attendance Mon-Thu, May 16-19
Autumn registration for New Admits begins
Tue, May 31
Autumn housing deposit refund deadline for New Students Wed, Jun 1
Autumn registration for Non-Admitted Students begins Mon, Aug 1
Autumn Quarter September Session begins
Mon, Aug 15
Last day to register or add courses for September Session  Mon, Aug 15 
Last day to withdraw from September Session courses  Fri, Aug 26 
Labor Day (holiday) Mon, Sep 5
New International Student housing check-in
Wed, Sep 7
New International Student Orientation
Thu, Sep 8
New Student campus housing check-in (9 a.m.-4:30 p.m.)
Thu, Sep 8
New Student Orientation begins (5 p.m.)
Thu, Sep 8
September Session classes end  Fri, Sep 9 
Returning Student campus housing check-in (11 a.m.–5 p.m.) Sat, Sep 10
Returning Student campus housing check-in (1–5 p.m.) Sun, Sep 11
Class instruction begins Mon, Sep 12
Last day for New Autumn Admits to complete initial registration Mon, Sep 12
September Session Grades due  Fri, Sep 16 
Last day to register or add courses, or to apply for Audit Fri, Sep 16
Waitlist ends  Fri, Sep 16 
Autumn Quarter 100% tuition refund deadline Fri, Sep 16
Last Day to apply for Independent Study, Internships, Individual Instruction, Pass/No Credit, and Dissertation Fri, Sep 23
Autumn Quarter 75% tuition refund deadline Fri, Sep 23
Autumn Quarter 50% tuition refund deadline Fri, Sep 30
Autumn Quarter 25% tuition refund deadline Fri, Oct 14
Winter registration for all Admitted Undergraduate and Graduate/Doctoral Students currently in attendance Mon–Thu, Oct 31–Nov 3
Last day to withdraw from courses Fri, Nov 4
Winter housing deposit refund deadline for Continuing Students Mon, Nov 7
Veterans Day (holiday); some classes meet* Fri, Nov 11
Winter registration for New Admits begins Mon, Nov 14
Last Class for Undergraduate Classes Wed, Nov 16
Student Reading Day  Thu, Nov 17
Final Exams for Undergraduate Classes  Fri-Tue, Nov 18-22
Last Class for Graduate and Doctoral Classes Tue, Nov 22
Residence halls close for Christmas Break (10 a.m.) Wed, Nov 23
Christmas Break for Students Nov 23-Jan 2
Thanksgiving (holiday); campus closed Thu–Fri, Nov 24–25
Winter registration for Non-Admitted Students begins Mon, Nov 28
Winter housing deposit refund deadline for New Students Tue, Nov 29
Autumn Quarter Grades due Thu, Dec 8

Winter Quarter 2023


Winter registration for all Admitted Undergraduate and Graduate/Doctoral Students currently in attendance
Mon–Thu, Oct 31–Nov 3
Winter housing deposit refund deadline for Continuing Students Mon, Nov 7
Winter registration for New Admits begins Mon, Nov 14
Winter registration for Non-Admitted Students begins Mon, Nov 28
Winter Quarter December Session begins  Mon, Nov 28 
Winter housing deposit refund deadline for New Students Tue, Nov 29
December Session Classes end  Thu,  Dec 22
Residence halls open (1 p.m.; New Student check-in 1–4 p.m.)
Tue, Jan 3
Class instruction begins
Wed, Jan 4
Last Day for New Winter Admits to complete initial registration
Wed, Jan 4
December Session Grades due  Thu, Jan 5
Last day to register or add courses, or to apply for Audit Tue, Jan 10
Waitlist ends Tue, Jan 10
Winter Quarter 100% tuition refund deadline Tue, Jan 10
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (holiday); some classes meet**
Mon, Jan 16
Last day to apply for Independent Study, Internships, Individual Instruction, Dissertation, and Pass/No Credit Wed, Jan 18
Winter Quarter 75% tuition refund deadline
Wed, Jan 18
Winter Quarter 50% tuition refund deadline
Tue, Jan 24
Day of Common Learning; classes beginning 4 p.m. or later meet  Wed, Jan 25 
Winter Quarter 25% tuition refund deadline
Tue, Feb 7
All classes meet as scheduled on Presidents Day; no holiday
Mon, Feb 20
Spring registration for all Admitted Undergraduate and Graduate/Doctoral Students currently in attendance Tue-Fri, Feb 21–24
Last day to withdraw from courses Fri, Feb 24
Spring housing deposit refund deadline for Continuing Students Mon, Mar 6
Spring registration for New Admits begins
Mon, Mar 6
Last Class for Undergraduate Classes
Fri, Mar 10
Student Reading/Faculty In-Service Day
Mon, Mar 13
Spring registration for Non-Admitted Students begins
Mon, Mar 13
Final exams for Undergraduate Classes Tue–Thu, Mar 14–16
Last Class for Graduate and Doctoral Classes
Thu, Mar 16
Residence halls close for Spring Break (10 a.m.)
Fri, Mar 17
Spring housing deposit refund deadline for New Students Fri, Mar 17
Spring Break for Students
Mar 17–28
Winter Quarter Grades due Fri, Mar 24

Spring Quarter 2023

Spring registration for all Admitted Undergraduate and Graduate/Doctoral Students currently in attendance Tue–Fri, Feb 21–24
Spring housing deposit refund deadline for Continuing Students Mon, Mar 6
Spring registration for New Admits begins Mon, Mar 6
Spring registration for Non-Admitted Students begins Mon, Mar 13
Spring housing deposit refund deadline for New Students Fri, Mar 17
Residence halls open (1 p.m.; New Student check-in 1–4 p.m.)
Tue, Mar 28
Class instruction begins
Wed, Mar 29
Last Day for New Spring Admits to complete initial registration
Wed, Mar 29
Last day to register or add courses, or to apply for Audit Tue, Apr 4
Waitlist ends Tue, Apr 4
Spring Quarter 100% tuition refund deadline Tue, Apr 4
Good Friday (holiday); no classes meet Fri, Apr 7 
Last day to apply for Independent Study, Internships, Individual Instruction, Dissertation, and Pass/No Credit Wed, Apr 12
Spring Quarter 75% tuition refund deadline
Wed, Apr 12
Spring Quarter 50% tuition refund deadline
Wed, Apr 19
Summer registration begins Mon, May 1
Spring Quarter 25% tuition refund deadline
Wed, May 3
Autumn registration for all Admitted Undergraduate and Graduate/Doctoral Students currently in attendance Mon-Thu, May 15-18
Last day to withdraw from courses
Wed, May 24
Memorial Day (holiday); some classes meet** Mon, May 29
Autumn registration for New Admits begins
Tue, May 30
Last Class for Undergraduate Classes Fri, Jun 2
Student Reading/Faculty In-Service Day Mon, Jun 5
Final exams for Undergraduate Classes Tue-Thu, Jun 6–8
Last Class for Graduate and Doctoral Classes Thu, Jun 8
Residence halls close for Summer Break (4:00 p.m.) Fri, Jun 9
Ivy Cutting Fri or Sat, Jun 9 or 10
Graduate Commencement Fri or Sat, Jun 9 or 10
Undergraduate Commencement Sat or Sun, Jun 10 or 11
Graduating seniors vacate housing (time TBD) Sun or Mon, Jun 11 or 12
Spring Quarter Grades due Mon, Jun 19

*Friday-only classes will meet on Veterans Day to provide the required class sessions.

**Monday-only classes will meet on Martin Luther King Jr. Day and Memorial Day to provide the required class sessions.